What Types of Car Accidents Must You Report?
No matter if there was a police report – everyone involved in the accident must file an account of the incident.
There are four instances in which you have to report a car accident to the Oregon DMV. It’s when:
- your vehicle sustained more than $2,500 in damage
- your car needs to be towed away from the accident scene
- any other vehicle or property (e. g. building) sustained more than $2,500 in damage
- someone was injured or killed
How Long Do I Have to Report the Accident?
You must tell the DMV about the accident within 72 hours. Use this Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report form to give an accurate accounting of the incident. It gives clear instructions on how to fill out the sections, and allows you to print the form from the fillable PDF. The Oregon DMV site has supplemental information as well.
It’s also a good idea for insurance purposes to gather a copy of the police report (if there was one). Contact your local law enforcement office for assistance. If you’re unable to do so, or don’t know which law enforcement agency was on site after the accident, contact Gary R. Johnson Law. We can help.
What Happens If I Don’t File an Accident Report?
If you don’t file an accident report (or not on time), the Oregon DMV can suspend your license until you file.
Note that this is true, even if you didn’t know that you had to file the report. In a recent car accident case, the Oregon DMV suspended the client’s license for failing to file an accident report because someone had been injured in the accident. The driver appealed the suspension because he did not know that the other person had been injured. The court upheld the suspension!